Finding positive solutions to move your family forward
We know seeking out a family law attorney can be an emotional step. No one wants to find themselves here. Our goal is to provide you with the confidence of knowing a brighter future is ahead.
We pride ourselves on being experienced and empathetic attorneys who put your family first and provide positive solutions.
Whether you are dealing with a divorce, child custody issues, domestic violence, or any other matter pertaining to family law, we are here to guide you through.
Common Family Law Practice Areas:
Child Custody and Visitation
Family Law Frequently Asked Questions:
If you have questions that are not addressed below, please don’t hesitate to contact us at 856-429-3144.
Can a child decide parent custody arrangements in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, child custody arrangements are determined based on what’s in the best interest of the child.
While New Jersey law doesn’t allow children to make decisions on parental custody or parenting time arrangements, the courts will typically permit children age 14 and up to voice their preferences.
In most child custody cases, the non-custodial parent will be granted parenting time or visitation as long as it’s in the best interests of the child.
Can a parent with primary child custody in New Jersey move out of state without the non-custodial parent’s consent?
New Jersey law requires that the parent with child custody receives permission from the non-custodial parent, or has a court order signed by a judge, before moving the child out of state.
How is child support calculated in New Jersey?
Child support in New Jersey is generally calculated using the New Jersey Child Support Guidelines.
The New Jersey Child Support Guidelines is a mathematical formula that determines the amount of money it will take to adequately take care of a child based on the parents combined income. The guidelines take into account a variety of factors, including the number of children, the parents’ income, the child or children’s health insurance premium, childcare costs, and more. There are exceptions that allow the courts to deviate from the New Jersey Child Support Guidelines.
The New Jersey Child Support Guidelines are not applicable when the parents’ combined net income exceeds $187,200 annually or is less than $8,840 annually.